Virat Kohli selected as ICC ODI Player of the Decade, ms dhoni receives special award | ICC ODI Player of the Decade: Virat Kohli became the world’s best cricketer, Dhoni received this special honor

Dubai: Virat Kohli, captain of the Indian team, received the Sir Garfield Sobers award of this decade by the ICC. This award is given to the best player of the decade who has made his mark in all formats. The ICC issued a statement announcing several awards from this decade.

Besides Sir Garfield Sobers, Virat Kohli has been selected as the best ODI male cricketer of the decade by the ICC.

The Sir Garfield Sobers Award is given to a player who has performed well in the Test, ODI and T20 formats. Kohli defeated compatriots Ravichandran Ashwin, Steve Smith of Australia and Ken Williamson of New Zealand in this race.

The incredible Virat Kohli wins Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade

Most races in #ICCAwards: 20396
Most Hundreds: 66
Most 50s: 94
Highest average among players with more than 70 innings: 56.97
2011 @cricketworldcup champion

– ICC (@ICC) December 28, 2020

At the same time, Kohli was also named the best male ODI player of the ICC of this decade. Here Kohli left behind Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka, Lasith Malinga, Rohit Sharma from India, Mitchell Starc from Australia.

“My only intention was to make winning contributions for the team and I just strive to do that in every game. Statistics just become a by-product of what you want to do on the pitch.”

Virat Kohli reacts by winning the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade #ICCAwards

– ICC (@ICC) December 28, 2020

Kohli (Virat Kohli), however, lost the race to Steve Smith of Australia in the award for best male cricketer of the decade. Apart from Kohli, Smith beat Englishman James Anderson, Joe Root, New Zealander Ken Williamson in this race.

Afghan leg thrower Rashid Khan has been selected by the ICC as the best T20 cricketer of the decade. When Rashid competed in T20 leagues of all countries, he was also very successful internationally. In the race, Chris Gayle of the West Indies, Aaron Finch of Australia, Virat Kohli of India, Rohit Sharma, Imran Tahir of South Africa were behind Rashid.

VIRAT KOHLI is ICC ODI Male Cricketer of the Decade

Only the player with more than 10,000 ODI works during the #ICCAwards period
39 centuries, 48 ​​50s
61.83 Average
112 takes

An execution machine / 0l0cDy4TYz

– ICC (@ICC) December 28, 2020

Captain Dhoni, who made India a double world champion, also managed to win an award given to him to show his sportsmanship. Dhoni had recalled host batsman Ian Bell at bat after a contested run in a practice match played at Trent Bridge pitch while touring England in 2011.

The ICC awarded Dhoni the Spirit of Cricket Award for this decade.

Related Articles

Back to top button