The series victory over England will help India advance to the WTC final. Much easier for Team India for the World Test Championship, tough competition between these teams

New Delhi: The ICC World Test Championship has now reached its final stage where the Indian team has a golden opportunity to advance to the final. India will face the England team next month and with this series victory, the team will be able to confirm their place in the final of the World Test Championship to be held in June. The final match of the World Test Championship will be played June 18-22 at the historic Lords pitch in England.

Lords can win series against Brits

The Indian team are currently at the top of the Test World Championship points table and if the team wins the next four-game test round against England, they have a good chance of reaching the final. If the Indian team wins 4–0, 3–0, 3–1 or 2–0 against England, they will go directly to the final of the World Test Championship. But if England beats India 0–3 or 0–4, then plans to play India’s final may be lost again.

Four teams still have a chance to qualify for the final

Apart from India, three other teams still have a chance of reaching the final of the World Test Championship. India, Australia, England and New Zealand are the four teams that can go to the final. Although no other team has any way to reach the final. After winning the series 2-0 against Sri Lanka, England made the table world championship points table more exciting.

The bio-bubble became a headache for Glenn Maxwell, made the big decision to stay away from cricket

England now sit in fourth place with 68.7% points and are just 0.5% behind the third-placed Australian team. Australia has 69.2%. India leads with 71.7%, while New Zealand is second with 70%. Australia will need to avoid losing a single game in the three-game series against South Africa to go to the final, while also having to win two matches. Speaking of New Zealand, they don’t have a series before the World Test Championship now and their reach in the final depends on the performance of Australia and England.

Last doors closed for Pakistan and other teams

As for the other teams like Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the West Indies and Bangladesh, they cannot reach the final. Even if these teams win all of their remaining matches, they will still fail to reach the final.

The first world test championship started two years ago

The World Test Championship took place two years ago in 2019. The 9 best teams in the world took part in this championship, two of which will play the final match in June 2021 at historic Lord’s ground in England.

Related Articles

Back to top button