Nepal’s political parties fail to form government: Amore

Kathmandu, 13 May

The president had set a deadline tonight to form the government after Nepal’s Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli lost the trust vote last Monday, but Nepal’s political parties have not yet reached a consensus due to their factionalism. The Nepali Congress led by Sher Bahadur Devba decided to field a candidate for the post of Prime Minister on Tuesday, but its efforts to form a coalition government were thwarted when a section of the Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal led by Mahant Thakur Made it clear that he should not participate in the process of forming the government. The Thakur-led faction has around 16 votes. The Nepali Congress has 61 votes. He has the support of the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Central), which has 49 votes. The Congress-Maoist Central Alliance has the support of about 15 MPs of the Janata Samajwadi Party led by Upendra Yadav. The three parties have a total of 125 votes, a shortfall of 136 to 11 votes in the 271-member House. The deadline to form the government ends tonight and President Vidya Devi Bhandari has appealed to opposition parties to support the growing alliance. -PTI

Related Articles

Back to top button