IPL: Two new teams will be introduced in the 2022 season, an auction will take place in May | IPL: No 8, now 10 teams will play IPL, two more teams will be increased from this year

New Delhi: The 14th Indian Premier League (IPL) season kicks off on April 9. 8 teams will also participate in this year’s IPL. But the BCCI has decided that it will now field not 10 but 10 teams in the IPL. 10 teams will participate in IPL 15 to be held in 2022. These teams will be auctioned off by the end of the 2021 season.

Ganguly-Shah Meeting

Senior BCCI officials, including BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and Secretary Jay Shah, held a meeting on Saturday to consider various policy decisions approved by the IPL Steering Committee earlier this year. Let us know that Ganguly has already stated on several occasions that 2 additional teams can be increased in the IPL.

10 teams that will take place next year

During IPL 2022, 10 teams will be seen playing. These teams will be auctioned off in the final phase of the IPL in May this year. A BCCI official told PTI-language on condition of confidentiality: “From next year there will be 10 teams in the IPL and by May of this year the process of The tender for the new franchise and various things related to it have been finalized. He said: “Once the teams are decided they can start their operations, which takes a lot of time.”

IPL will be held in India after two years

IPL will be played in India again after two years. The last time the IPL was played in India was in 2019. The IPL was held in the UAE due to the growing epidemic of Corona virus in 2020, but this year the tournament will be held again in India. This year, the IPL will be held at 6 locations across the country. The first match of IPL 2021 will be played between the Mumbai Indians and the Royal Challengers Bangalore. This match will be played on April 9 in Chennai. The final of this tournament will be played on May 30 at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Related Articles

Back to top button