IND vs PAK: Hrishikesh Kanitkar four who become the reason for the victory of the Indian team against Pakistan in the Independence Cup 1998 | January 18: 23 years ago, India won the Independence Cup by tearing the jaws of Pakistan

New Delhi: When India and Pakistan (IND vs PAK) go head to head on the cricket pitch, the mood is no less than a battle. It will always be remembered by Indian cricket fans on January 18, 1998 when Team India achieved an impossible victory based on their understanding and hard work.

The huge PAK score

The Pakistani team came out first and scored 314 points after dropping 5 wickets in 48 overs. Saeed Anwar has played a century of 140 tracks. Apart from that, Ijaz Ahmed also played an excellent 117 with Anwar. In this match, 2 overs were reduced for both teams.

Read also- Virat reached this post after the birth of his daughter, the first person in Asia to do so

Big goal for the India team

The goal of 315 races in 48 overs may seem possible in today’s times, but it was extremely difficult 22 years ago, as no team could achieve such a goal then. Prior to that match, at the 1992 World Cup, Sri Lanka beat Zimbabwe despite a 313 point goal, which was the highest pursuit record.

Amazing Indian drummers

Team India has spared no effort to achieve this major goal. Sourav Ganguly scored a century of 124 points, while Sachin Tendulkar (Sachin Tendulkar) scored 42 points on 26 balls. Then Robin Singh reduced the goal of victory by scoring 82 points.

Indian middle order has weakened

There came a time when the hard work of Team India’s top batsmen showed water. In middle order, one by one, the batsmen began to return to the clubhouse. Captain Mohammad Azharuddin (4), Ajay Jadeja (8), Navjot Sidhu (5) and Nayan Mongia were sacked by 9 points. Now the Indian team has been seen wandering off the path to victory, but has not stopped fighting.

Kanitkar Square

There came a time when Team India had to score 3 points in 2 balls to win. Saqlain Mushtaq did the last. Just then, striking Hrishikesh Kanitkar hit a fort four and gave Team India an unlikely victory. Kanitkar had become a superstar for all Indians.

Fatah Series

Team India won the match by 3 wickets and broke Sri Lanka’s record chasing the biggest goal. India had won the Independence Cup. Sourav Ganguly received the Man of the Match award and Sachin Tendulkar received the Man of the Series award. The houses will pass but Team India will never forget this victory and Pakistan this defeat.

Related Articles

Back to top button