IND vs AUS: Boxing Day Test in Melbourne, India 100th Test Match vs Australia | IND vs AUS: India and Australia contested the 100th test in Melbourne

Melbourne: The historic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) witnessed the 100th test match between India and Australia. The Boxing Day test is a milestone in terms of the cricket relationship between these two teams.

#TeamIndia will play its th Test against Australia when the teams face off in the second Border-Gavaskar Trophy Test at the MCG, starting tomorrow. #AUSvIND

– BCCI (@BCCI) December 25, 2020

Kangaroo domination

Today, of course, there is a huge competition between India and Australia (IND vs AUS) on the cricket ground, but history is a witness that Australia has always maintained its dominance against d ‘other teams around the world as well as India. .

What are the numbers?

The figures bear this out. In 99 test matches played so far, Australia have won 43 matches while India have won 28. One match is tied and 27 matches are drawn.


The cricket test between the two teams began in 1947 with the Indian tour of Australia. The 5-game series was won 4-0 by the host team. The series began on October 17, 1947 and ended on February 20, 1948.

First captain

For the first time, the Independent India team is going on tour abroad and the command of this team is in the hands of Lala Amarnath. On the other hand, the captain of the host team was Sir Don Bradman, considered the greatest batsman in the world.

Bradman is awesome

Bradman had scored 715 points in that series, while Vijay Hazare had scored the most 429 points for India. Speaking of bowling, Ray Lindwal took 18 wickets for the hosts and Lala Amarnath took 13 wickets for India.

AUS first tour of India

Australia first visited India in 1956-57. A 3-game test series was played between the two teams, which Australia won 2–0.

Came to India then to Australia

In 1959-60, the Australian team visited India again and played in a series of 5 matches. This series was won by India 2–1. After that, Kangaroo came to India again in 1964-65 and played a 3-game series, which was drawn 1–1.

The era of Gavaskar

The year 1979-80 was very special for India as this year India won 2-0 in a series of 6 games played at home under the captain of the great Sunil Gavaskar. It was India’s first series victory against the Kangaroos.

Name given to the series

From 1996 to 1997, the series of tests between these two countries was named “Border-Gavaskar Trophy”. Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border have been excellent players and captains of both teams.

‘Virat’ success in AUS

In 2018-19, when India toured Australia, then under captain Virat Kohli, Team India beat Australia 2-1 in the 4-game series. This is the first and only series on the Indian Cricket Team from the Indian Cricket Team.

Related Articles

Back to top button