ICC Awards of Decades: Virat Kohli becomes test team captain, only player to be selected for all formats | ICC Awards of Decades: the ‘Virat’ achievement of Kohli, the only player to be selected in all formats

New Delhi: Indian team captain Virat Kohli is back in India after the first test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy against Australia. Virat has achieved many successes on the basis of his captaincy and his staff. Now another award has been added to his list of accomplishments.

Virat Kohli became the test captain of this decade

The ICC chose Virat Kohli as the captain of its test team for this decade. Apart from Kohli, this team only has Ravichandran Ashwin from India. Two great test drummers Alastair Cook and Kumar Sangakkara have a place in this team. Cook was selected as the opener along with David Warner of Australia, while former Sri Lankan captain Sangakkara as the wicket keeper.

Your Male ICC Test Team of the Decade

A line-up that could probably beat for a week! #ICCAwards pic.twitter.com/Kds4fMUAEG

– ICC (@ICC) December 27, 2020

Current New Zealand captain Ken Williamson was selected third. Kohli, Steve Smith, Sangakkara are at numbers four, fifth and sixth. Ben Stokes entered the squad as a versatile player.

There is only one spinner on the team in the form of Ashwin, the fast bowling pace is on Dale Steyn from South Africa, James Anderson from England and Steward Broad.

Virat’s name is included in all formats

The ICC have announced the best T20 and ODI team of this decade and Virat Kohli’s name is included in both of these teams. Virat is the only player whose name has been included in all formats.

ICC Test Team of the Decade: Virat Kohli (captain), Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara (wicket keeper), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Steward Broad, James Anderson.

ICC ODI Team of the Decade: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain-porter), David Warner, Virat Kohli, Abraham de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Imran Tahir, Lasith Malinga.

ICC Men’s T20 Team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Harbor Captain), Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, Abraham de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, Karen Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jaspreet Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

Related Articles

Back to top button