Constitution Bench constituted to hear petitions against dissolution of Nepalese Parliament: Amore

Kathmandu, 28 May

Nepal’s Chief Justice Cholendra Shamsher Rana has appointed four Supreme Court judges to form a Constitutional Bench to hear 30 petitions filed by the President against the dissolution of the House of Representatives. This information has been given in a news report in the media on Friday. A five-member Constitutional Bench is proposed to resolve disputes on constitutional matters.

Around 30 petitions have been filed in a senior court against President Vidya Devi Bhandari’s May 22 decision to dissolve the lower house of Parliament on the recommendation of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli. According to the Kathmandu Post, the newly constituted bench will consist of Justices Deepak Kumar Karki, Anand Mohan Bhattarai, Tej Bahadur KC and Bam Kumar Shrestha besides the Chief Justice. Significantly, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli had failed to garner the necessary support to save his government. -PTI

Related Articles

Back to top button