Carlos Brathwaite 6,6,6,6 makes the West Indies win the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup under the captaincy of Darren Sammy, Ben Stokes goes bad | When the West Indies won the second T20 World Cup, Carlos Brathwaite’s 4 sixes caused a stir

New Delhi: West Indies are the only team in the world to have won the Men’s World Cup twice in the ODI and T20 formats. Just 5 years before today, on April 3, 2016, the Caribbean team became the T20 World Champion for the second time under the leadership of Darren Sammy.

Final match in Calcutta

After losing the draw at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, the England team went out at bat first and scored 155 points after dropping 9 wickets in the prescribed 20 overs. For the Brits, Joe Root contested the highest rounds of 54 points. Apart from Root, no English drummer could put fifty.

Read also- IPL 2021: Siraj and Chahal were talking, Dhanshree stepped in between the two, many questions were asked

Marlon Samuels showed his strength

The 156-point goal for the West Indies seemed straightforward enough, but England shed the sweat from the Caribbean team. Joe Root took the first 2 wickets of the Windies for only 5 races. After that, Marlon Samuels scored 85 points on 66 balls and gave the West Indies some relief.

6,6,6,6 by Carlos Braithwaite

The West Indies needed 19 points to win in the last. England captain Eoin Morgan gave the ball to Ben Stokes with great confidence. It looked like Stokes would be able to stop the Carabai team. But Carlos Braithwaite was in a different mood. He had 4 consecutive sixes on the top 4 balls, making the Windies the T20 cricket champions for the second time.

#OnThisDay in 2016, the West Indies doubled @ T20WorldCup Champions!

They initially beat by eight wickets in the women’s final, before the men were edged out by four wickets in a final that has been cited multiple times from

– ICC (@ICC) April 2, 2020

Six from Braithwaite reminded Dhoni

In the last end of the game, no one expected Carlos Brathwaite to beat so fast because his bat remained silent throughout the World Cup. Those Brathwaite six became immortal just as MS Dhoni’s six in the 2011 World Cup final became memorable in the world of cricket.

Stokes became England’s villain

Even though Ben Stokes gave England many successes in his career, in this game he became his team’s villain. He failed to stop Carlos Brathwaite’s storm. With this, the English team missed a golden opportunity to win the T20 World Cup.

Related Articles

Back to top button